I got the cold calling blues………

June 2, 2011 at 3:58 pm Leave a comment

I got me some cold calling blues.....

I sit here on a beautiful Thursday almost afternoon – with the cold calling blues!
Do you know what I mean?

That,

  • draggy, laggy groove
  • I know what to do so what is the problem
  • it’s so nice outside, maybe a walk would be a good idea
  • I have no other reason to put this off
  • it will all be better once I connect with someone
  • did I have breakfast
  • I need to write a post – because I’ve responded to my e-mail, tweeted; and brushed my teeth

….groove.

And so you know – my cold call success closing rate is over 90%. That is – I make an appointment with more than 90% of the people I get on the phone!

High results – I’ve been doing this for a while – and I train this stuff – I better be good

So – cold calling is no fun! And it’s much more fun to check your voice mail and your e-mail to find out who is looking to buy something from you!

Having said that, we ALL have to do it, if we want to sell!

Yes, I know you read that cold calling is dead – and there are other ways around it – sure – we can have a ‘tepid’ call by using your Social Networking tools – using your references to provide names ya ya ya – but we still have to pick up the phone and make that initial call to someone You don’t know!

Here are the Top 3 things to do to ensure that when you do call – it will end up an appointment.

  1. Know who you are calling – know the company; goals; objectives; in the news; etc. Know the contact – know their title, something about them – no excuses – tons of info out there.
  2. Know yourself – your company, your solutions – and their relevance to your contact. Have a clear ‘brand’ of you, your company – when asked…’so, what exactly do you do?’ – can you explain in 1 sentence (15 words or less?). What are your references – where have you been successful in the past?
  3. Know how to communicate the message – how does the opportunities, challenges faced by your prospect align to you and your company. Everyone wants to know WIIFM – what’s in it for me – and saying ‘I was just in the neighborhood and wanted to stop by’ or ‘I only need 10 minutes of your time ‘and ‘I’m not trying to sell you anything’ won’t cut it! Make it convesational. It helps if you picture a 3rd cousin once removed – some connection, all be it, distant.

I did pick up the phone to call, and I did get an appointment………

Transcript as follows:

Me: Good morning, Julie, this is Margaret from Turbo Charge your sales.

Julie: good morning Margaret

Me; Julie,  I must be honest with you – this is a cold call – and I dislike cold calling – however, in reading your president’s message, I saw where you are challenged with the ability of your sales force to deliver revenue, and it really got my attention.

Julie; Yes, that is a big push for us for balance of year.

Me; Tell me more?

Julie; Well, we have a dichotomy in our sales force – half have over 20 years experience and the other half have less than 5 – so the message is inconsistent

Me; Do you have a common sales language?

Julie; Ha, ha!

Me: How successful is your team in making hi-value calls – and do they all have the same describtion of hi-value?

Julie: Well….good questions…..not sure how to answer that.

Me; Julie – I have worked with several Fortune 500 companies, and it will comfort you to know, that many have the same challenges. What I bring to the table is experience and excellence and the knowledge of how to use your existing resources to boost revenue.

Julie; great – my next week looks good!

So – 1 down – 2 more to go!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Find out how you are sabotaging yourself?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2011
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts


